Back to the overview

Because it's practice that makes the difference

24.03.2015
sto_stiftung_12_2015_projekt_langa_bild_01

Stuttgart/Essen. Increasing awareness of sustainability and honing international perspectives are key components in training prospective architects. The only way to expand your own horizons is to think across borders. The non-profit Sto Foundation is promoting the development of these skills with its summer school competition, which took place this year for the fifth time.


The requirement was internationally-oriented courses on "sustainability and energy-efficient construction types", and entry was open to all faculties of architecture and civil engineering in Germany.


Chairman of the Foundation Board, Prof. Peter Cheret, University of Stuttgart, presided over the jury, who assessed recent submissions from across all of Germany. The four victors fulfilled the Foundation's requirements of internationality, stringent design, and high public profile in an exemplary manner, and were awarded a total of EUR 40 000.


Egyptian-German design-build of a library in Cairo | Uni-versity of Stuttgart, Prof. Astrid Ley


Students on the international master programme are designing a teaching and reading room for the inhabitants of the Ezbet Abu Quarn informal settlement in Cairo, and are doing so together with students of the Ain Shams University and the local inhabitants using an ecological and sustainable method of construction.


Constructing an Israeli-Palestinian meeting point in Jerusalem | TU Berlin, Prof. Christophe Barlieb


A temporary meeting point is being created on the border of the village Beit Zafafa (Palestine) and the neighbouring Katamonium (Jewish part of Jerusalem) under the artistic direction of Matan Israeli. A stall selling melons is being built, which is to serve as a meeting point for cultural events. Voluntary helpers from both communities and students of the TU Berlin are carrying out its construction.


Guga Children's Theatre | International design-build project in South Africa | PBSA Düsseldorf, Prof. Judith Reitz


The fifth and last construction stage of the extension to the Guga S'Thebe cultural centre is underway, which is to include a children's and youth theatre in Langa, Cape Town. Over 200 students of the RWTH Aachen, the Peter Behrens School of Architecture in Düsseldorf, Georgia Tech in Atlanta, and the University of Cape Town are taking part in construction.

"Refugees and the City: Kitchen Hub" | Symposium and practical seminar | TU Berlin, Prof. Philipp Misselwitz


Students of the TU Berlin and craftsmen (refugees and local people) are planning and creating a communal kitchen including a multifunctional space.

Please direct queries to

Bert Große
PR-Agentur Große GmbH
Grabbeallee 59
D - 13156 Berlin
T.: 0049 (0)30 49 98 94 00
F.: 0049 (0)30 49 98 94 020
info@pr-grosse.de
www.pr-grosse.de

LEFT OFFCANVAS AREA - 2000px height
RIGHT OFFCANVAS AREA

zurück zur Übersicht

Weil die Praxis den Unterschied macht

24.03.2015
Kulturzentrum Guga S ́Thebe in Township Langa
Kulturzentrum Guga S ́Thebe in Township Langa

Stuttgart/Essen. Das Bewusstsein für Nachhaltigkeit und internationale Perspektiven zu schärfen, ist wichtiger Bestandteil der Ausbildung angehender Architekten. Nur der Blick über Grenzen hilft, den eigenen Horizont zu erweitern. Mit ihrem zu Jahresbeginn zum fünften Mal ausgelobten Summer-School-Wettbewerb fördert die gemeinnützige Sto-Stiftung die Herausbildung dieser Kompetenzen.


Gesucht wurden international ausgerichtete Lehrveranstaltungen zu „Nachhaltigkeit und energetisch sinnvollen Bauweisen“, teilnehmen konnten alle Fakultäten für Architektur und Bauingenieurwesen in Deutschland.


Unter Vorsitz von Stiftungsrat Prof. Peter Cheret, Universität Stuttgart, begutachtete die Jury jüngst Einreichungen aus ganz Deutschland. Weil sie den Stiftungsanspruch von Internationalität, stringenter Konzeption und Öffentlichkeitswirksamkeit in beispielhafter Weise erfüllen, wurden vier Siegern insgesamt 40.000 Euro zuerkannt:


Ägyptisch-deutsches Selbstbauprojekt einer Bibliothek in Kairo | Universität Stuttgart, Prof. Astrid Ley


Studierende des internationalen Masterprogramms entwerfen für die Bewohner der informellen Siedlung Ezbet Abu Quarn, Kairo einen Lern- und Leseraum und realisieren diesen gemeinsam mit Studierenden der Ain Shams University und Bewohnern vor Ort in ökologischer und nachhaltiger Bauweise.


Errichtung eines israelisch-palätinensischen Treffpunktes in Jerusalem | TU Berlin, Prof. Christophe Barlieb


Schaffung eines temporären Treffpunkts unter künstlerischer Leitung von Matan Israeli an der Grenze des Dorfs Beit Zafafa (Palästina) und des benachbarten Katamonium (jüdischer Stadtteil Jerusalems). Gebaut wird ein Melonen-Verkaufsstand, der als Treffpunkt für kulturelle Veranstaltungen dient. Der Bau erfolgt mit freiwilligen Helfern aus beiden Kommunen und Studierenden der TU Berlin.


Guga Children's Theatre | Internationales Selbstbauprojekt in Südafrika | PBSA Düsseldorf, Prof. Judith Reitz


Fünfter und letzter Bauabschnitt zur Erweiterung des Kulturzentrums Guga S´Thebe um ein Kinder- und Jugendtheater in Langa/Kapstadt. Am Bau nehmen über 200 Studierende der RWTH Aachen, der Peter Behrens School of Architecture Düsseldorf, der Georgia Tech Atlanta sowie der University of Cape Town teil.


„Refugees and the City: Kitchen Hub" | Symposium und Praxisseminar | TU Berlin, Prof. Philipp Misselwitz


Planung und Realisierung einer Gemeinschaftsküche samt Multifunktionsraum durch Studierende der TU Berlin und Handwerker (Flüchtlinge und Einheimische)


Sto-Stiftung kürt Preisträger des Summer-School-Wettbewerbs 2014
In Langa wird gebaut – Objektbericht zu den Arbeiten in Guga S’Thebe
Sto-Stiftung kürt Preisträger des Summer-School-Wettbewerbs 2013

Pressetext und Bildmaterial zum Download

Rückfragen beantwortet gerne

Bert Große
PR-Agentur Große GmbH
Grabbeallee 59
D - 13156 Berlin
T.: 0049 (0)30 49 98 94 00
F.: 0049 (0)30 49 98 94 020
info@pr-grosse.de
www.pr-grosse.de

LEFT OFFCANVAS AREA - 2000px height
RIGHT OFFCANVAS AREA