Back to the overview

Sto-Stiftung selects winners of the summer school competition 2014

10.03.2014
Prof. Dirk Bayer (TU Kaiserslautern), Prof. Peter Cheret (University Stuttgart) and Uwe Koos (Sto-Stiftung)
Prof. Dirk Bayer (TU Kaiserslautern), Prof. Peter Cheret (University Stuttgart) and Uwe Koos (Sto-Stiftung)

Stuttgart/Essen. Awareness of sustainability and international perspectives form an integral part of the education of prospective architects. Glancing across borders alone helps expand one’s own perspective. This is why at the beginning of the year the non-profit foundation Sto-Stiftung offered its summer school competition for the fourth time already.


It was looking for internationally oriented courses on “sustainability and energetically sensible ways of construction”. The competition was open to all faculties for architecture and civil engineering in Germany.


Under the chairmanship of foundation council member Prof. Peter Cheret of Stuttgart University the jury recently assessed the well over 30 submissions. Because they fulfil the foundation’s requirements of internationality, compelling design and visibility in an exemplary manner, the four winning projects were awarded a total of 35.000 €:


Cameroonian-German DIY building project “Rising Education – l’école élémentaire”


Under the coordination of Prof. Susanne Hoffmann, 15 students of TU Berlin, called the building pilots, are developing and implementing a bilingual primary school in Bertoua/Cameroon in cooperation with the Hope Foundation (a German-Cameroonian NGO) and local workers and experts.


“Hamlet Creche (Oppie Koppie Creche)” – international DIY building project in South Africa


Expansion of the cultural centre Guga S’Thebe by a children’s theatre in Langa/Cape Town. More than 200 craftsmen, artists and students – besides RWTH Aachen, the Peter Behrens School of Architecture Düsseldorf also from Georgia Tech Atlanta and the University of Cape Town – are taking part in the process.


“Bolivia Design-Build Project” – German-Bolivian DIY building project of an agricultural school


Design and implementation project of an agricultural school in Bella Vista/Bolivia in cooperation with TU Berlin, chair of Prof. Ralf Pasel, and Universidad Mayor de san Simon de Cochabamba.


“Village makes opera” – design project in Klein Leppin


Under the direction of Prof. Donatella Fioretti, 80 first year students are designing and building architectural features. In the context of a baroque opera house, the task is to work out which fragments of the history of the Baroque are preserved in Klein Leppin and how the idea of the baroque park in a Brandenburg village can be revived by means of contemporary architectural resources.

Please direct queries to

Bert Große
PR-Agentur Große GmbH
Grabbeallee 59
D - 13156 Berlin
T.: 0049 (0)30 49 98 94 00
F.: 0049 (0)30 49 98 94 020
info@pr-grosse.de
www.pr-grosse.de

LEFT OFFCANVAS AREA - 2000px height
RIGHT OFFCANVAS AREA

zurück zur Übersicht

Sto-Stiftung kürt Preisträger des Summer-School-Wettbewerbs 2014

10.03.2014
Siegreiche Einreichungen aus Aachen, Düsseldorf und Berlin
Siegreiche Einreichungen aus Aachen, Düsseldorf und Berlin

Stuttgart/Essen. Das Bewusstsein für Nachhaltigkeit und internationale Perspektiven gehören zur Ausbildung angehender Architekten unabdingbar dazu. Nur der Blick über Grenzen hilft, die eigenen Perspektiven zu erweitern, deshalb lobte die gemeinnützige Sto-Stiftung zu Jahresbeginn bereits zum vierten Mal ihren Summer-School-Wettbewerb aus.


Gesucht wurden international ausgerichtete Lehrveranstaltungen zu „Nachhaltigkeit und energetisch sinnvollen Bauweisen“, teilnehmen konnten alle Fakultäten für Architektur und Bauingenieurwesen in Deutschland.


Unter Vorsitz von Stiftungsrat Prof. Peter Cheret, Universität Stuttgart, begutachtete die Jury jüngst die gut 30 Einreichungen. Weil sie den Stiftungsanspruch von Internationalität, stringenter Konzeption und Öffentlichkeitswirksamkeit in beispielhafter Weise erfüllen, wurden vier siegreichen Projekten insgesamt 35.000 Euro zuerkannt:


Kamerunisch-deutsches Selbstbauprojekt „Rising Education – l`école élémentaire“


15 Studierende der TU Berlin, die Baupiloten, unter Koordination von Prof. Susanne Hofmann, entwickeln und realisieren in Zusammenarbeit mit der Hope Foundation (deutsch-kamerunische NGO) und mit lokalen Arbeitern und Experten eine bilinguale Grundschule in Bertoua/Kamerun.


„Guga Children's Theatre“ – internationales Selbstbauprojekt in Südafrika


Erweiterung des Kulturzentrums Guga S´Thebe um ein Kinder- und Jugendtheater in Langa/Kapstadt. Am Prozess nehmen über 200 Studierende, Handwerker und Künstler teil, neben der RWTH Aachen und der Peter Behrens School of Architecture Düsseldorf auch die Georgia Tech Atlanta und die University of Cape Town.


„Bolivien Design-Build Project“ – deutsch-bolivianisches Selbstbauprojekt einer Landwirtschaftsschule


Entwurfs- und Realisierungsprojekt einer Landwirtschaftsschule in Bella Vista, Bolivien, Zusammenarbeit der TU Berlin, Lehrstuhl Prof. Ralf Pasel, mit der Universidad Mayor de san Simon de Cochabamba.


„Dorf macht Oper“ – Entwurfsprojekt in Klein Leppin"


Unter Leitung von Prof. Donatella Fioretti entwerfen und errichten 80 Studierende des zweiten Fachsemesters Kleinarchitekturen. Im Kontext einer Barockoper soll hinterfragt werden, welche Fragmente der Geschichte des Barock sich in Klein Leppin erhalten haben und wie man mit heutigen architektonischen Mitteln die Idee der barocken Parkanlage in einem brandenburgischen Dorf wiederbeleben kann.


Der Pressetext zum Download

Rückfragen beantwortet gerne

Bert Große
PR-Agentur Große GmbH
Grabbeallee 59
D - 13156 Berlin
T.: 0049 (0)30 49 98 94 00
F.: 0049 (0)30 49 98 94 020
info@pr-grosse.de
www.pr-grosse.de

LEFT OFFCANVAS AREA - 2000px height
RIGHT OFFCANVAS AREA