Back to the overview

Interior Scholarship | Blog 01-2017 | Christopher Hansen

11.04.2017

Ideas for a human world of tomorrow


This past month has been difficult in terms of understanding for myself, what it is exactly that I would like to achieve and communicate with my project. Fortunately I feel like I have managed to work past this and really get going with laying down the groundwork and objectives. So far everything is not quite decided and I don’t expect this to happen all at once, but the most important parts are.


I asked myself the question; “What does my project do and how does it do it?”, in order to come up with a short descriptive text that explains my intentions. To me this is important for my own understanding, but also in order to communicate quickly what I am doing to others. So, in a nutshell:


“My project draws on speculative and fictitious scenarios within the future context of a human colinisation on Mars, using design fiction as a tool to understand the complex issues of humans and human society. Exploring these projected futures are intended to function as introspective binoculars, taking the reflective glance far enough away, in order to come full circle, and ultimately examine todays world. This process also allows room for questions to arise about the inherent nature of being human in the world of tomorrow. The distance and at times obsurdity, of the constructed narratives, allow for parallels to be drawn from the future to the present.”


My entry point into the project is dealing with the mutual relationship between science fiction and design. If science fiction indirectly designs the realities of tomorrow, then a designer is certainly one who deals with science fiction. As we know that fiction is capable of becoming a reality, the idea of working with fiction does not seem so irrational. Therefore my method so far, is to produce my own fictions, which provide me with a given context and background to breed forth designerly outcomes. These outcomes are then a part of a larger narrative that reflects on chosen issues, such as exploring the notion of home.


The democratisation of design and production in todays world, leaves us with an immense responsibility to become equally as proficient in producing valid ideas.


Christopher Hansen



More:
Interior Scholarship | Blog 02-2017 | Annika Rautter

Interior Scholarship | Blog 01-2017 | Michael Fehringer

sto_stiftung_christopher_hansen_c_ait

About Christopher Hansen

Rooms with their many meanings and interpretations are at the centre of Christopher Hansen's attention. Christopher is studying for Master's degree in "Spatial and Furniture Design" at the Oslo Academy of the Arts. In order to allow him to completely focus on his interior design studies, he will receive the "Interior Scholarship" – the Sto Foundation's AIT scholarship. In the 2016/17 academic year, it is being awarded to four students who stood out through their pronounced attitude and creative way of thinking. Christopher believes that the possibility of publishing his own ideas and his own work on a major platform is of great importance for his future path as a designer. This also applies to financial support. He thinks that initiatives for committed students are very important and is pleased that he was lucky enough to be chosen for one.

Rückfragen beantwortet gerne

Bert Große
PR-Agentur Große GmbH
Grabbeallee 59
D - 13156 Berlin
T.: 0049 (0)30 49 98 94 00
F.: 0049 (0)30 49 98 94 020
info@pr-grosse.de
www.pr-grosse.de

LEFT OFFCANVAS AREA - 2000px height
RIGHT OFFCANVAS AREA

zurück zur Übersicht

Interior Scholarship | Blog 01-2017 | Christopher Hansen

11.04.2017

Ideen für die humane Welt von morgen


Im vergangenen Monat hatte ich Probleme, mich selbst zu verstehen und zu erkennen, was ich mit meinem Projekt erreichen und kommunizieren möchte. Glücklicherweise habe ich diesen Zustand überwunden und lege nun das Fundament für meine Ziele. Derzeit sind noch alle Entscheidungen offen, ich gehe nicht davon aus, dass alles auf einmal passiert, aber die wichtigsten Dinge sind klar.


Ich stellte mir selbst die Frage: "Was soll mein Projekt erreichen und wie soll es das erreichen?", um kurz zu beschreiben, was ich vorhabe. Dies ist für mein Selbstverständnis wichtig, aber auch für die schnelle Kommunikation mit anderen, die wissen wollen, was ich tue. Also, kurz und knapp:


“Mein Projekt befasst sich mit spekulativen und fiktiven Szenarien einer zukünftigen Kolonisation des Mars durch den Menschen. Ich nutze dabei fiktives Design als Werkzeug, um die komplexen Probleme der Menschen und der menschlichen Gesellschaft zu verstehen. Die Erkundung dieser Zukunftsoptionen ist als Blick in das Innere gedacht, als Rückblick aus ausreichend großer Entfernung, um den Kreis zu schließen und die Welt von heute zu untersuchen. In diesem Prozess ist auch Raum für Fragen, was den Menschen in der Zukunft ausmachen wird. Die räumliche und zeitliche Entfernung und die konstruierten Themen ermöglichen es, Parallelen zwischen Zukunft und Gegenwart zu erkennen."


Mein Einstieg in das Projekt war die Wechselbeziehung zwischen Fantastik und Design. Wenn Science-Fiction-Romane indirekt die Realität der Zukunft gestalten, befasst sich ein Designer zweifellos mit Science-Fiction. Wir alle wissen, dass Fiktion Realität werden kann; die Idee, sich mit Fantastik zu befassen, ist daher nicht so irrational. Meine Methode bestand bisher darin, eigene Fiktionen zu produzieren, die mir einen bestimmten Kontext und Hintergrund für die Gestaltung bieten. Diese Ergebnisse werden dann Teil einer größeren Geschichte, welche die gewählten Themen reflektiert, beispielsweise das Konzept eines Hauses.


Die Demokratisierung von Design und Produktion in der modernen Zeit überträgt uns eine enorme Verantwortung, um genauso kompetent wertvolle Ideen zu produzieren.


Christopher Hansen



Mehr dazu:

Interior Scholarship | Blog 02-2017 | Annika Rautter

Interior Scholarship | Blog 01-2017 | Michael Fehringer

sto_stiftung_christopher_hansen_c_ait

Über Christopher Hansen

Christopher Hansen konzentriert seine Aufmerksamkeit vor allem auf Räume mit ihren vielfältigen Bedeutungen und Interpretationen. Christopher studiert für einen Masterabschluss in Raum- und Möbeldesign an der Akademie der Künste in Oslo. Damit er sich ausschließlich auf seine Studien zur Innenarchitektur konzentrieren kann, erhält er ein "Interior Scholarship" – ein AIT-Stipendium der Sto-Stiftung. Im Studienjahr 2016/17 wurde das Stipendium an vier Studenten vergeben, die durch ihre positive Einstellung und kreatives Denken auffielen. Christopher ist überzeugt, dass die Möglichkeit, seine Ideen und Arbeiten auf einer größeren Plattform zu veröffentlichen, seinen zukünftigen Weg als Designer stark beeinflussen wird. Dies gilt auch für finanzielle Unterstützung. Seiner Ansicht nach sind Initiativen für engagierte Studenten besonders wichtig und er ist glücklich, dass er zu den Auserwählten gehörte.

Rückfragen beantwortet gerne

Bert Große
PR-Agentur Große GmbH
Grabbeallee 59
D - 13156 Berlin
T.: 0049 (0)30 49 98 94 00
F.: 0049 (0)30 49 98 94 020
info@pr-grosse.de
www.pr-grosse.de

LEFT OFFCANVAS AREA - 2000px height
RIGHT OFFCANVAS AREA