Back to the overview

Interior Scholarship | Blog 01/02/2017 | Mona Schaffer

03.04.2017

Ellos que deberian vivir - Those who should live


At the end of the first semester in Cuba, a friend sent me a propaganda comic entitled "El que deber vivir" ("He who should live") as a leaving present. The comic illustrates a story about the USA's CIA, whose primary goal throughout the last 50 years regarding Cuba was the assassination of Fidel Castro. More than 600 murder plots are known to have been hatched.


The comic inspires me. It consists of black and white images that were subsequently filled in with extensive colouring. The shapes resulting from these areas interest me. I am cutting up the entire comic and dissecting it into individual areas of colour. I am using the individual parts to form new spaces in a two-dimensional array which I will later flesh out and define with watercolours and fineliner.


During this process, I am compelled to think about the people living here in Cuba. Again and again, I find myself coming back to the title "He who should live". I think about the people I have met and with whom I coexist on a daily basis. People who have been oppressed and dominated by the political system. On some days, I witness resignation. Either one setback too many, a lack of working materials or the realisation of potentially never being able to see any other country. Moments that rob my friends and fellow students of the strength and desire to get back up and start over again.


As a result, I often observe that things are not tried at all due to the fact that they may not work. I think about the many people that cannot make their dreams come true in Cuba, either because they fear what is new and unknown, they fear that something may not work, or simply because they just don't have the chance. And I think about myself, and the many opportunities that I haven't taken advantage of.


I have given my work the title of "Those who should live". My spaces become stories of people who let things be. The reasons and things which cannot be experienced in the moment are numerous and can be freely interpreted by any observer.


After finishing my drawings, I get a nagging feeling that I've missed something. For three months, I have been drawing spaces that have their roots in feelings and stories. The two-dimensional work helped me to think more flexibly about old spatial patterns as well as preferred shapes and colours. The collage, which makes use of prefabricated parts, was useful in helping me to break out of old patterns. Watercolouring gives me free reign over colour.


This time, I am going one step further. I am cutting up the completed collages and then creating three-dimensional spaces with them. The results are spatial objects that can exist without any additional purpose. It is an attempt to break away from old patterns and create new spaces that are bold in shape and colour. I will continue to work towards this goal.


Mona Schaffer



More Blog-Posts:

Interior Scholarship | Blog 02/2017 | Annika Rautter

Interior Scholarship | Blog 01/2017 | Michael Fehringer

sto_stiftung_mona_schaffer_c_ait

About Mona Schaffer

Mona Schaffer initially studied media and communication studies for two semesters to learn more about visual and audio-visual communication. She then transferred to the Burg Giebichenstein University of Art and Design and began her interior design studies. In the 2016/2017 winter semester, Mona studied scenography at ISA (universidad de las artes) in Cuba. In order to allow her to completely focus on her studies, Mona will receive the "Interior Scholarship" – the Sto Foundation's AIT scholarship. In the 2016/17 academic year, it is being awarded to four interior design students who stood out through their pronounced attitude and creative way of thinking. The scholarship comes at the perfect time for Mona Schaffer and it will pay for part of her stay abroad.

Please direct queries to

Bert Große
PR-Agentur Große GmbH
Grabbeallee 59
D - 13156 Berlin
T.: 0049 (0)30 49 98 94 00
F.: 0049 (0)30 49 98 94 020
info@pr-grosse.de
www.pr-grosse.de

LEFT OFFCANVAS AREA - 2000px height
RIGHT OFFCANVAS AREA

zurück zur Übersicht

Interior Scholarship | Blog 01/02/2017 | Mona Schaffer

03.04.2017

Ellos que deberian vivir - Die, die leben sollten


Am Ende des ersten Semesters in Kuba schenkt mir ein Freund zum Abschied einen Propaganda-Comic mit dem Titel „El que debe vivir“ („Er, der leben soll“). Der Comic illustriert eine Geschichte über den Geheimdienst der USA, dessen wesentliches Ziel gegenüber Kuba während der letzten 50 Jahre darin bestanden haben soll, Fidel Castro zu eliminieren. Mehr als 600 Mordpläne sind bekannt.


Der Comic inspiriert mich. Er besteht aus schwarzweißen Bildern, die nachträglich großflächig eingefärbt sind. Die Formen, die durch diese Flächen entstehen, interessieren mich. Ich zerschneide den gesamten Comic und zerlege ihn in die einzelnen Farbflächen. Mit den Einzelteilen forme ich neue Räume und Orte im zweidimensionalen Bereich, die ich später mit Aquarell und Fineliner erweitere und definiere.


Während dieses Prozesses bin ich in Gedanken bei den Menschen, die hier in Kuba leben. Immer wieder stoße ich mich an dem Titel „Er, der leben soll“. Ich denke an die Menschen, die ich kennen gelernt habe und mit denen ich tagtäglich zusammen lebe. Menschen, die durch das politische System eingeschränkt und bevormundet werden. An manchen Tagen sehe ich Resignation. Ein neuer Rückschlag zu viel, der Mangel an Arbeitsmaterialien oder das Wissen darum, eventuell nie ein anderes Land zu sehen. Momente, die meinen Freunden und Kommilitonen von neuem die Kraft rauben, neu anzufangen und wieder aufzustehen.


Als Resultat beobachte ich oft, dass Dinge gar nicht erst probiert werden, weil sie nicht funktionieren könnten. Ich denke an die vielen Menschen, die nicht nur in Kuba ihre Träume nicht leben, aus Angst vor dem Neuen, aus Angst, dass etwas nicht funktionieren könnte, oder weil sie schlichtweg nicht die Möglichkeit haben. Und ich denke an mich, denke an die vielen Gelegenheiten, die ich nicht genutzt habe.


Ich forme für meine Arbeit den Titel „Die, die leben sollten“. Meine Räume werden zu Geschichten von Menschen, die Dinge sein lassen. Die Gründe und das, was in dem Moment nicht erlebt wird, sind zahlreich und können von den Betrachtern selbst interpretiert werden.


Nachdem ich meine Zeichnungen beendet habe, beschleicht mich das Gefühl, das mir etwas fehlt. Seit drei Monaten zeichne ich Räume, die durch Gefühle und Geschichten entstehen. Die zweidimensionale Arbeit hat mir dabei geholfen, alte Raummuster, präferierte Formen und Farben freier zu denken. Das Collagieren, das sich schon vorgefertigter Teile bedient, war hilfreich, um aus alten Formmustern auszubrechen. Das Aquarellieren ließ mich in der Farbe freier Handeln.


Diesmal gehe ich einen weiteren Schritt. Ich zerschneide die angefertigten Collagen und forme aus ihnen dreidimensionale Räume. Es entstehen Raumobjekte, die ohne weiteren Zweck existieren dürfen. Es ist ein Versuch, aus alten gedachten Mustern auszutreten und neue Räume entstehen zu lassen, die sich in Form und Farbe mutig präsentieren. Ich werde dieses Ziel weiter verfolgen.


Mona Schaffer



Mehr dazu:
Interior Scholarship | Blog 02/2017 | Annika Rautter

Interior Scholarship | Blog 01/2017 | Michael Fehringer

sto_stiftung_mona_schaffer_c_ait

Über Mona Schaffer

Mona Schaffer studierte zunächst zwei Semester Medien- und Kommunikationswissenschaft, um mehr über die visuelle und audiovisuelle Kommunikation zu lernen. Dann wechselte sie an die Burg Giebichenstein Hochschule für Kunst und Design und begann ihr Innenarchitekturstudium. Im Wintersemester 2016/2017 studiert Mona an der ISA (universidad de las artes) in Kuba ein Semester lang Szenografie. Damit sie sich voll auf das Studium konzentrieren kann, erhält Mona das „Interior Scholarship" – das AIT-Stipendium der Sto-Stiftung. Es geht im Studienjahr 2016/2017 an vier Studierende der Innenarchitektur, die durch ihre ausgeprägte Haltung und kreative Denkweise deutlich herausstachen. Für Mona Schaffer kommt das Stipendium zur richtigen Zeit und wird einen Teil ihres Auslandsaufenthalt finanzieren.

Rückfragen beantwortet gerne

Bert Große
PR-Agentur Große GmbH
Grabbeallee 59
D - 13156 Berlin
T.: 0049 (0)30 49 98 94 00
F.: 0049 (0)30 49 98 94 020
info@pr-grosse.de
www.pr-grosse.de

LEFT OFFCANVAS AREA - 2000px height
RIGHT OFFCANVAS AREA