Back to the overview

Sto Foundation offers €60,000 for a summer school competition

08.12.2016
Construction of an agricultural school in Bella Vista. One of the winning projects in the 2014 summer school competition. Students from TU Berlin designed and built an agricultural school in Bolivia in collaboration with the Universidad Mayor de san Simon de Cochabamba. Photo: Sto Foundation / TU Berlin, subject area: design and building construction, Prof. Pasel, CODE - Construction and Design
Construction of an agricultural school in Bella Vista. One of the winning projects in the 2014 summer school competition. Students from TU Berlin designed and built an agricultural school in Bolivia in collaboration with the Universidad Mayor de san Simon de Cochabamba. Photo: Sto Foundation / TU Berlin, subject area: design and building construction, Prof. Pasel, CODE - Construction and Design

Architecture students are working across the world


Since 2010, the Sto Foundation has been supporting international summer schools for the next generation of architects by offering its own competition. Main goals: Raising the awareness of other cul-tures, a different way of looking at regional and social structures and sensible, energetically optimised construction that adapts to different situations.


Many innovative do-it-yourself construction projects have taken stu-dents all the way to Bolivia, Haiti, Peru and South Africa. In regions that are struggling economically, they built schools, parks and cultural centres by working side-by-side with fellow students, local craftsmen and the local youth.


In 2017, the non-profit foundation will continue this competition. Peter Cheret, Chair of the Foundation Council, offered a total prize of €60,000. Applicants can choose any theme they want. Focal points are preserving resources, regional building culture, cityscape and energy as well as the cooperation between architecture and the build-ing trades or internationally organised event formats.


Architecture faculties and departments from all German universities are eligible to apply. Informal applications are possible through 31 January 2017. A group of well-known jurors will convene in the first quarter, which will allow the funds to be available during the 2017 summer semester.



Press text and images for download

Application for project funding

Please direct queries to

Bert Große
PR-Agentur Große GmbH
Grabbeallee 59
D - 13156 Berlin
T.: 0049 (0)30 49 98 94 00
F.: 0049 (0)30 49 98 94 020
info@pr-grosse.de
www.pr-grosse.de

LEFT OFFCANVAS AREA - 2000px height
RIGHT OFFCANVAS AREA

zurück zur Übersicht

Architekturstudierende weltweit im Einsatz

08.12.2016
Bau einer Landwirtschaftsschule in Bella Vista. Eines der Gewinnerprojekte im Summerschool-Wettbewerb 2014.Studierende der TU Berlin entwarfen und realisierten gemeinsam mit der Universidad Mayor de san Simon de Cochabamba eine Landwirtschaftsschule in Bolivien. Foto: Sto-Stiftung / TU Berlin, Fachgebiet Entwerfen und Baukonstruktion, Prof. Pasel, CODE - Construction and Design
Bau einer Landwirtschaftsschule in Bella Vista. Eines der Gewinnerprojekte im Summerschool-Wettbewerb 2014.Studierende der TU Berlin entwarfen und realisierten gemeinsam mit der Universidad Mayor de san Simon de Cochabamba eine Landwirtschaftsschule in Bolivien. Foto: Sto-Stiftung / TU Berlin, Fachgebiet Entwerfen und Baukonstruktion, Prof. Pasel, CODE - Construction and Design

Sto-Stiftung lobt 60.000 Euro im Summerschool-Wettbewerb aus


Seit 2010 unterstützt die Sto-Stiftung internationale Summerschools für den Architektennachwuchs mit einem eigenen Wettbewerb. Zentrales Anliegen: Schärfung des Bewusstseins für fremde Kulturen, für eine differenzierte Betrachtung regionaler und sozialer Strukturen, für eine jeweils sinnvolle energetisch optimierte Bauweise.


Zahlreiche innovative Selbstbau-Projekte haben Studierende bis nach Bolivien, Haiti, Peru und Südafrika geführt. In wirtschaftlich schwachen Regionen entwarfen und realisierten sie mit Kommilitonen, örtlichen Handwerkern und Jugendlichen Schulen, Parks und Kulturzentren.


2017 setzt die gemeinnützige Stiftung den Wettbewerb fort. Stiftungsrat Professor Peter Cheret lobt insgesamt 60.000 Euro aus. In der Themenwahl sind die Bewerber frei. Schwerpunkte sind Ressourcenschonung, regionale Baukultur, Stadtbild und Energie sowie die Zusammenarbeit von Architektur und Handwerk oder international organisierte Veranstaltungsformate.


Die Architektur-Fakultäten und Fachbereiche aller Hochschulen in Deutschland können sich bewerben. Die formlose Einreichung ist bis zum 31. Januar 2017 möglich. Eine namhaft besetzte Jury tagt im ersten Quartal, sodass die Fördermittel zum Sommersemester 2017 abgerufen werden können.



Pressetext und Bildmaterial zum Download
Antrag auf Projektförderung

Rückfragen beantwortet gerne

Bert Große
PR-Agentur Große GmbH
Grabbeallee 59
D - 13156 Berlin
T.: 0049 (0)30 49 98 94 00
F.: 0049 (0)30 49 98 94 020
info@pr-grosse.de
www.pr-grosse.de

LEFT OFFCANVAS AREA - 2000px height
RIGHT OFFCANVAS AREA