Back to the overview

Farshid Moussavi | Farshid Moussavi Architecture | London

01.12.2016

November Talks 2016 in Stuttgart


Farshid Moussavi, the third speaker at the November Talks in Stuttgart, lectures at renowned universities such as the Architectural Association (AA) in London and the Harvard Graduate School of Design in Cambridge, MA. She is an architectural theorist and recently published her third book.


That is remarkable for an architect who also sets standards in practice and currently runs her second successful office – Farshid Moussavi Architects. She made a name for herself with Foreign Office Architects – FOA, which she founded in 1993, and in particular with the Yokohama ferry terminal that was completed in 2002. The unusual wooden deck of the infrastructure project received an enthusiastic reception from experts and remains a reference project to this day, which Farshid Moussavi was happy to mention during her lecture at the University of Stuttgart.


But first she provided an insight into her new book "The Function of Style". She described how the question about style is getting lost in a contemporary debate on architecture because style only seems to serve formal goals. A constantly changing world demands that the concepts and methods of architectural practices have to be re-evaluated, newly defined and adapted constantly. As an example for this, the London-based Moussavi pointed to Brexit, which suddenly led to projects having to be reconsidered, certain materials no longer being available and international cooperation becoming more difficult. Moussavi advocates redefining the term "style" as well and believes that this would help with contemporary building and designing.


What is the function of style?


In the era of open source and internationalisation, style can no longer be an expression of authorship and nation states. Moussavi also believes that even naming a style after the era and epoch when it began is outdated. Instead, she proclaims the return to the architectural base element and underscores the micropolitical decision of architects, which they make every time they rearrange these base elements. According to Farshid Moussavi, the effects and consequences of architectural decisions, such as flexibility, privacy or transparency, are what constitute "style", and this style has to be consciously shaped and designed. She meticulously and precisely analyses walls, windows, balconies, ceilings, etc. and examines the different effects that different architectural decisions could have on users and their behaviour.


Trivial? Not at all! It becomes exciting for the audience when the speaker applies this "basic architectural research" to her practical experience and, using selected details, precisely explains which considerations were involved in the respective architectural setting. She promotes an architecture of assemblage, of addition and, in the process, to make a specific decision with each new component in order to remain reactive in a present dictated by change. She believes this way of designing is more sustainable and resilient than one structure-dictating design idea that then has to be implemented consistently down to the smallest detail. "That is why I love working drawings! They are filled with important architectural decisions", said Farhid Moussavi at the end of her theoretical introduction, and then used a few projects – often with construction site photos – to demonstrate what this approach means in practice.


Residential building in Montpellier


She explains the idea of a specifically composed building (assemblage) by using the example of a nine-storey apartment tower in the southern French city of Montpellier. The building had to meet two objectives: Flexibility of the ground plans and maximum privacy in the exterior. While a basic variance of the blossom-shaped ground plans due to a utility room at the core of the building and the absence of columns is easily comprehensible, Moussavi explained the maximum privacy of the circumferential balconies in great detail. From each of the three types of balconies that were used, the potential lines of sight to neighbours were closely examined. The alignment of the bent balconies changes depending on each storey and ends up as a softly curved facade. This opens up the view of the landscape and avoids the use of separating walls between balconies. Critical zones, from which nosy looks could still be cast onto the balconies of neighbours, are "defused" with a specifically adapted, tight grating of the railings.


Museum of Contemporary Art in Cleveland


In Cleveland, the firm designed a museum for contemporary art also referred to as MOCA. In this case, the wish for flexibility of use was the starting point for the work of FMA. A crystal-like building, which allows for different scenarios thanks to a ground plan featuring multiple entrances, rises from a hexagonal area. The rooms have multiple functions. They can be connected or rented out separately. With just a little work, the museum shop can be turned into a showroom for dancing performances. FMA turned the requirement of an enclosed emergency staircase into an opportunity. While the representative open staircase is supposed to foster communication and lead to the different gallery levels, a second staircase is hidden behind it. It is supposed to provide visitors with a contemplative place and a visual and acoustic break between exhibits. The building features a reflecting stainless steel facade. However, as a result of slight dents in the lamellar panels, distortions are created: Like a kaleidoscope, the environment is reflected but also transformed.


Office tower in London


The lecture was concluded with the presentation of a 17-storey office tower in i London with an irregular octagon as its base. Due to the neighbouring buildings, the tower is always just partially visible but it should still be perceived as one of the city's striking objects. As a special detail, the architect therefore explains the uniform facade – a curtain of black glass panels that is based on a three-metre grid divided into small segments. The concave windows allow different levels of translucence and different views. Overall, however, they still create a cohesive look.

Please direct queries to

Bert Große
PR-Agentur Große GmbH
Grabbeallee 59
D - 13156 Berlin
T.: 0049 (0)30 49 98 94 00
F.: 0049 (0)30 49 98 94 020
info@pr-grosse.de
www.pr-grosse.de

LEFT OFFCANVAS AREA - 2000px height
RIGHT OFFCANVAS AREA

zurück zur Übersicht

Farshid Moussavi | Farshid Moussavi Architecture | London

01.12.2016

November Reihe 2016 in Stuttgart


Die dritte Referentin der Stuttgarter November Reihe, Farshid Moussavi lehrt an so renommierten Hochschulen wie der Architectural Association (AA) in London oder an der Harvard Graduate School of Design in Cambridge MA. Sie ist Architekturtheoretikerin und hat soeben ihr drittes Buch veröffentlicht.


Das ist bemerkenswert für eine Architektin, die auch in der Praxis Maßstäbe setzt und aktuell ihr zweites erfolgreiches Büro, Farshid Moussavi Architects leitet. Bekannt wurde sie mit ihrem 1993 gegründeten Büro Foreign Office Architects – FOA, insbesondere mit dem 2002 fertig gestellte Fährterminal von Yokohama. Das ungewöhnliche Holzdeck des Infrastrukturprojekts begeisterte die Fachwelt und ist auch heute noch eine Referenz, die Farshid Moussavi in ihrem Vortrag an der Uni Stuttgart gerne erwähnt.


Doch zunächst gibt sie einen Einblick in ihr neues Buch „The Funktion of Style“. Sie beschreibt, wie die Frage nach dem Stil in einer zeitgenössischen Architekturdebatte verloren ging, weil er scheinbar nur formale Ziele bediene. Eine sich ständig verändernde Welt – als Beispiel erwähnt die in London arbeitende Moussavi den „Brexit“, der schlagartig dazu führt, das Projekte überdacht, bestimmte Produkte nicht mehr zugänglich sind oder die internationale Zusammenarbeit erschwert wird – verlange danach, dass Konzepte und Methoden der architektonischen Praxis ebenso ständig hinterfragt, neu definiert und angepasst werden müssen. Moussavi wirbt dafür, auch den Begriff des Stils neu zu definieren – sie vermutet in ihm eine Hilfestellung zeitgenössischen Bauens und Entwerfens.


Was ist die Funktion von Stil?


In Zeiten von Open Source und Internationalisierung kann Stil nicht mehr ein Ausdruck von Autorenschaft oder Nationalstaat sein. Selbst die Benennung eines Stils nach Entstehungszeit und Epoche hält Moussavi für überkommen. Stattdessen proklamiert sie die Rückbesinnung auf das architektonische Grundelement und unterstreicht die mikropolitische Entscheidung des Architekten, die er mit jeder Anordnung dieser Grundelemente vornimmt. Effekte und Auswirkungen architektonischer Entscheidungen, wie beispielsweise Flexibilität, Privatheit oder Transparenz bezeichnet Farshid Moussavi als Stil, den es bewusst zu gestalten und zu entwerfen gilt. Mit Akribie und Genauigkeit analysiert sie daher Wand, Fenster, Balkon, Decke etc. und untersucht die verschiedenen Effekte, die die eine oder andere architektonische Entscheidung auf den Nutzer und sein Verhalten haben könnte.


Banal? Mitnichten! Denn spannend wird es für die Zuhörer, als die Referentin diese „Grundlagenforschung der Architektur“ auf ihre Praxis überträgt und an ausgewählten Details präzise erläutert, welche Überlegungen und Abwägungen sich hinter der jeweiligen architektonischen Setzung verbergen. Sie wirbt füreine Architektur der Assemblage, des Hinzufügens und im Prozess mit jedem neuen Bauteil spezifisch entscheiden, um reaktiv zu bleiben, in einer von der Veränderung bestimmten Gegenwart. Diese Art des Entwerfens scheint ihr nachhaltiger und widerstandfähiger zu sein, als eine einzige strukturbestimmende Entwurfsidee, die konsequent bis ins Detail umgesetzt werden muss.„Daher liebe ich Werkpläne! Sie sind voller wichtiger architektonischer Entscheidungen“, schließt Farhid Moussavi ihre theoretische Einführung um nun an einigen Projekten – meist mit Baustellenfotos illustriert – zu zeigen, was dieser Ansatz in der Praxis bedeutet.


Wohngebäude in Montpellier


Die Idee des spezifisch zusammengestellten Gebäudes, der Assemblage erläutert sie am Beispiel eines neunstöckigen Apartmentturms im südfranzösischen Montpellier. Zwei Ziele soll der Bau erfüllen: Flexibilität der Grundrisse und maximale Privatsphäre im Außenraum. Während eine grundsätzliche Varianz der blütenförmigen Grundrisse durch einen innen liegenden Servicekern und Stützenfreiheit leicht nachvollziehbar ist, erklärt Moussavi die maximale Privatheit der umlaufenden Balkone buchstäblich im Detail. Von jedem der drei vorhandenen Balkontypen wurden mögliche Sichtbeziehungen zum Nachbarn genauestens untersucht. Die Ausrichtung der gekrümmten Balkone ändert sich je nach Geschossebene und läuft in einer sanften Kurve zur Fassade aus, um den Blick in die Landschaft zu öffnen und Trennwände zum Nachbarbalkon zu vermeiden. Kritische Zonen, in denen doch neugierige Blicke auf den Balkon des Nachbarn fallen könnten, werden mit einer spezifisch angepassten, engen Rasterung der Geländer „entschärft“.


Museum für zeitgenössische Kunst in Cleveland


In Cleveland entwarf das Büro ein Ausstellungshaus für zeitgenössische Kunst, das MOCA. Der Wunsch nach Nutzungsflexibilität war hier der Ausgangspunkt desArbeit von FMA.Auf der Grundfläche eines Hexagons erhebt sich ein kristallartiger Baukörper, der durch seinen Grundriss mit mehreren Eingängen verschiedene Szenarien ermöglicht. Die Räume sind multifunktional. Sie können zusammengeschaltet oder getrennt vermietet werden, wenige Handgriffe machen aus dem Museumsshop einen Vorführraum für Tanzperformances. Aus der Not einer abgeschlossenen Fluchttreppe machten FMA eine Tugend. Während eine repräsentative und zur Kommunikation anregende Freitreppe offen durch die Galerieebenen führt, versteckt sich direkt darunter eine zweite Treppe, die als kontemplativer Ort den Besuchern eine visuelle und akustische Pause zwischen den Ausstellungen gönnen soll. Das Gebäude ist mit einer spiegelnden Edelstahlfassade verkleidet, allerdings ergeben sich durch leichte Dellen in den streifenförmig angeordneten Panellen Zerrbilder: Wie ein Kaleidoskop wird die Umgebung einerseits reflektiert und doch transformiert.


Büroturm in London


Den Abschluss des Vortrags bildet die Vorstellung eines 17-geschossigen Bürohochhauses in der Londoner City, mit einem unregelmäßigen Achteck als Grundfläche. Das Gebäude ist aufgrund der Nachbarbebauungen immer nur partiell und ausschnitthaft sichtbar, sollte aber dennoch als ein markantes Objekt in der Stadt wahrnehmbar sein. Als besonderes Detail erklärt die Architektin daher die einheitliche Fassade, ein Vorhang aus schwarzen Glaspanelen, derauf einem kleinteiligen Drei-Meter-Raster beruht. Die konkav gebogenen Scheiben ermöglichen verschiedene Stufen der Transluzenz sowie des Ausblicks und erzeugen im Gesamten dennoch eine geschlossen wirkende Ansicht.

Rückfragen beantwortet gerne

Bert Große
PR-Agentur Große GmbH
Grabbeallee 59
D - 13156 Berlin
T.: 0049 (0)30 49 98 94 00
F.: 0049 (0)30 49 98 94 020
info@pr-grosse.de
www.pr-grosse.de

LEFT OFFCANVAS AREA - 2000px height
RIGHT OFFCANVAS AREA