Back to the overview

Imke Woelk | IMKEWOELK und Partner | Berlin

30.11.2016

November Talks 2016 in Graz: "Space"


The second presentation of the November Talks 2016 at TU Graz, an event sponsored by the Sto Foundation, introduced another dimension of thinking about architecture. Imke Woelk brought theoretical and practical considerations on contemporary space from Berlin. What defines architectural space? And what role do the humans that use it play?


with the ability to interact


"Actually it is a box" – it is a statement about an iconic building of modern times that seems sober at first: In her 700-page dissertation, Berlin-based architect Imke Woelk dissected the Neue Nationalgalerie (the New National Gallery completed in 1968) from Ludwig Mies van der Rohe at Berlin's cultural forum. The different ways the building, which is equipped with the ability to interact, can be perceived ranges from a container or a stage to a temple complex modelled after classic examples. "Just as it is open spatially thanks to the minimisation of its architectural elements, it is open programmatically thanks to its acceptance of different room concepts. It is open typologically due to its capacity to integrate the ideas and subject matters of the performer". The room is only completed by the people and their individual way of dealing with the works of art. The identity of the room is formulated by the ambiguity of its dimension: That is the topic that intrigued the architect, who studied at the Technical University in Braunschweig, the most. She breaks through the barrier to art by also using drawings to examine the room. For example in the exhibition catalogue of the series "Katsura's Rooms", in which she maps out the different "levels of openness" of the 16th century Japanese Katsura Imperial Villa, a building complex with accompanying gardens. "The concepts of architecture, art and the world complete each other here through the potential connections between architecture, humans and nature", she said.


The dense theoretical thoughts – "You are probably wondering how we actually make a living" – lead right to the heart of the practice of conceptual designs, strategic development scenarios and feasibility studies. 400,000 apartments are supposed to be built in the greater Barcelona area. For the international competition, Woelk submitted an "urban texture" – a cartographical puzzle that fills the Ebro delta south of Barcelona, which is currently being used for agriculture, so skilfully with living spaces that the old, evolved structures are retained: from houses on stilts on top of rice fields to the houses with courtyards adjacent to plantations. Woelk won first place.


The design of museum spaces is another speciality of the architect from Berlin. Openness as a specific characteristic also plays a key role here: Like a sail, the roof of the new Nam June Paik museum in Seoul places itself above the landscape and folds up its wings. The large space allows research and the exhibit to work together – a separation is not intended. An exhibit room that the visitors themselves create demonstrates chance-taking to the extreme. In her concept for Berlin's "suitcase" gallery, the architecture of the exhibit is only created when one looks at it. "John Cage does the same thing with music", Woelk said about her source of inspiration. The American composer created key works of 20th century music and took apart his music to the point of it being unrecognisable – complete silence.


Music as an expression of a society that redefines itself is the basis for a project in Sarajevo. A concert hall with surrounding restaurants and shops is supposed to breathe new life into the city destroyed during the Bosnian War. The starting point: a bare landscape. Symbolically, Woelk shows an old, nearly destroyed oriental carpet. "We first had to plant something there to see what people would do with this space". The new area was supposed to come into existence in three developmental stages. The rhythm and the framework, however, are provided by the people who use it – spatial design as constant change and as a process.


What people did with a place is supposed to be preserved through the concept of a documentation and visitor centre on the former site of the headquarters of the Nazi regime in Berlin. Only the basements remain of the former structures. Above them are hills consisting of demolition waste and succession plants. This "disturbed spatial character" of the "topography of terror" will be preserved with rough landscaping. The hills have to keep the upper hand, even when visitors are moving below them as guests of the centre.


Living in an allotment garden? When space is scarce, new perspectives are needed. And inventive concepts that rethink habitation but still adhere to the intricacies of the federal allotment garden statutes. There are 900 of these allotment gardens in Berlin with a total of 70,000 plots. A lot of usable space in an increasingly densely populated city. Why not live there? Imke Woelk developed single and two-storey units that offer enough living space for one to four people. A complete miniature house with direct access to the garden, nature and neighbours.

Image: Imke Woelk / Traugott Maßmann
Image: Imke Woelk / Traugott Maßmann

Imke Woelk studied architecture at the Technical University in Braunschweig, at IUAV in Venice and Liberal Art at the University of Fine Arts in Braunschweig. After graduating from TU Braunschweig she worked with Massimiliano Fuksas in Rome and William Alsop in London from 1993–97. Back in Berlin, she founded the architecture office IMKEWOELK + Partner with Martin Cors. Since 2001, her research has focused on the creation and interpretation of concrete spaces. In 2003 she received the Rome Prize of Villa Massimo, the most important award for artists living in Germany. As visiting professor at Duksung Women’s University in Seoul, she taught exhibit design and scenography between 2005 and 2009. In 2010, she earned her doctorate at TU Berlin under Finn Geipel and Andres Lepik and her dissertation is about the use of the hall of the New National Gallery in Berlin from Mies van der Rohe.

Please direct queries to

Bert Große
PR-Agentur Große GmbH
Grabbeallee 59
D - 13156 Berlin
T.: 0049 (0)30 49 98 94 00
F.: 0049 (0)30 49 98 94 020
info@pr-grosse.de
www.pr-grosse.de

LEFT OFFCANVAS AREA - 2000px height
RIGHT OFFCANVAS AREA

zurück zur Übersicht

Imke Woelk | IMKEWOELK und Partner | Berlin

30.11.2016

November Reihe 2016 n Graz: "Spielraum"


Eine weitere Dimension des Nachdenkens über Architektur eröffnete der zweite Talk der November Reihe 2016 der Sto-Stiftung an der TU Graz. Imke Woelk brachte aus Berlin theoretische und praktische Überlegungen zum zeitgenössischen Raum mit. Was definiert den architektonischen Raum? Und welche Rolle spielen die Menschen, die ihn benutzen?


„Eigentlich ist es eine Kiste“ – eine zunächst nüchterne Feststellung über ein ikonisches Bauwerk der Moderne: Die Neue Nationalgalerie am Kulturforum Berlin von Ludwig Mies van der Rohe von 1968 hat die Berliner Architektin Imke Woelk auf 700 Seiten Dissertation seziert. Das mit der Fähigkeit zur Interaktion ausgestattete Gebäude divergiert in seinem Wahrnehmungspotential zwischen einem Container, einer Bühne undeinem, auf historischen Vorbildern aufbauenden Tempelbau. „So wie er räumlich offen ist über die Minimierung seiner architektonischen Elemente, ist er programmatisch offen über seine Akzeptanz unterschiedlicher Raumkonzepte. Typologisch offen ist er aufgrund seiner Kapazität, Ideen und Inhalte des Interpreten zu integrieren.“ Erst die Menschen in ihrer individuellen Auseinandersetzung mit dem Kunstwerken vervollständigen den Raum. Die Identität des Raums, ausformuliert über die Mehrdeutigkeit seiner Dimension: Das ist das Thema, das die Architektin, die an der Technischen Universität Braunschweig studierte, am meisten reizt. Dabei durchbricht sie gerne die Grenze zur Kunst indem sie den Raum auch zeichnerisch untersucht. Etwa im Ausstellungskatalog zur Serie „Katsuras Räume“, wo sie die unterschiedlichen „Offenheitsniveaus“ der japanischen Villa Katsura aus dem 16. Jahrhundert, einem Gebäudeensemble mit dazugehörigen Gärten, herausarbeitet. „Architekturbegriff, Kunstbegriff und Weltbild komplettieren sich hier über die möglichen Verbindungen zwischen Architektur, Mensch und Natur “, sagt sie.


Die dichten theoretischen Überlegungen – „Sie fragen sich jetzt sicher, wovon wir eigentlich leben“ – führen mitten in die Praxis von Entwurfsplanungen, strategischen Entwicklungsszenarien und Machbarkeitsstudien. Im Großraum Barcelona sollen 400.000 Wohnungen entstehen. Für den internationalen Wettbewerb reicht Woelk eine „urbane Textur“ ein, ein kartografisches Puzzle, welches das landwirtschaftlich genutzte Ebro-Delta südlich von Barcelona so geschickt mit Wohnraum füllt, dass alte, gewachsene Strukturen erhalten bleiben: vom Stelzenhaus über dem Reisfeld bis zum Wohnhaus mit Innenhof, das sich an die Plantagen anschmiegt. Woelk macht den ersten Platz.


Die Gestaltung von musealen Räumen ist eine weitere Spezialität der Berliner Architektin. Das „Offene “als spezifische Eigenschaft spielt auch hier eine tragende Rolle: Das Dach des neuen Nam June Paik Museums in Seoul legt sich wie ein Segeltuch über die Landschaft und knickt seine Flügel hoch. Der große Raum lässt Forschung und Ausstellung gemeinsam wirken, eine Trennung ist nicht vorgesehen. Den Zufall auf die Spitze treibt ein Ausstellungsraum, den der Besucher überhaupt selber erschafft. In ihrer Konzeption für die Berliner Galerie „suitcase“ entsteht die Architektur der Ausstellung erst, wenn man sie betrachtet. „Dasselbe machte John Cage im musikalischen Raum“, berichtet Woelk von ihrer Inspirationsquelle. Der amerikanische Komponist schuf Schlüsselwerke der Musik des 20. Jahrhunderts und zerlegte die Musik bis zur Unkenntlichkeit – der absoluten Stille.


Musik als Ausdruck einer sich neu definierenden Gesellschaft ist die Grundlage für ein Projekt in Sarajewo. Ein Konzerthaus mit umliegenden Restaurants und Läden soll der im Bosnienkrieg zerstörten Stadt neues Leben einhauchen. Ausgangspunkt: eine kahle Landschaft. Woelk zeigt symbolisch einen alten, fast zerstörten Orientteppich. „Da musste man zuerst etwas pflanzen und schauen, was die Menschen mit diesem Raum überhaupt machen.“ In drei Entwicklungsphasen soll das Areal neu entstehen. Den Rhythmus und den Rahmen dafür geben allerdings die Menschen vor, die es benutzen – Raumgestaltung als stetiger Wandel und Prozess.


Was die Menschen mit einem Ort gemacht haben, soll über das Konzept für ein Dokumentations- und Besucherzentrum auf dem Gelände der ehemaligen Zentrale des nationalsozialistischen Regimes in Berlin erhalten bleiben. Von den baulichen Strukturen sind nur noch die Keller übrig. Darüber erstreckt sich eine Hügellandschaft aus Abrissmaterial und Sukzessionsvegetation. Dieser „gestörte Raumcharakter“ der „Topografie des Terrors“ wird durch eine rauhe Gartenpflegefortbestehen, die Hügel müssen die Oberhand behalten, auch wenn sich der Besucher als Gast darunter im Zentrum bewegt.


Wohnen im Schrebergarten? Wenn Raum knapp wird, sind neue Perspektiven gefragt. Und originelle Konzepte, die zwar das Wohnen radikal neu denken, sich aber trotzdem an die Spitzfindigkeiten des „Bundeskleingartengesetzes“ halten. 900 solcher Schrebergärten hat Berlin, mit 70.000 Parzellen. Viel nutzbarer Raum in einer immer dichter werdenden Stadt. Warum nicht dort wohnen? Imke Woelk entwickelte ein- bis zweigeschoßige Einheiten, die Wohnraum für eine bis vier Personen bieten. Ein komplettes Haus in Miniaturform, mit direktem Zugang zu Garten, Natur und Nachbarschaft.

Bild: Imke Woelk / Traugott Maßmann
Bild: Imke Woelk / Traugott Maßmann

Imke Woelk studierte Architektur an der Technischen Universität Braunschweig, der IUAV in Venedig und Freie Kunst an der Hochschule für Bildende Künste in Braunschweig.Nach ihrem Diplom an der TU Braunschweig arbeitete sie zwischen 1993 -1997 bei Massimiliano Fuksas in Rom und William Alsop in London. Zurück in Berlin gründete sie mit Martin Cors das Architekturbüro IMKEWOELK + Partner. Seit 2001 konzentrieren sich dabei ihre Untersuchungen auf den konkreten Raum in seiner Entstehung und Interpretation. 2003 erhielt sie den Rom Preis, Villa Massimo, die bedeutendste Auszeichnung für in Deutschland lebende Künstler. Als Gastprofessorin der DuksungWomen’s University in Seoul unterrichtete sie zwischen 2005 – 2009 Ausstellungsdesign und Szenografie. 2010 promovierte sie an der TU Berlin bei Finn Geipel und Andres Lepik über den Gebrauch der Halle der Neuen Nationalgalerie Berlin von Mies van der Rohe.

Rückfragen beantwortet gerne

Bert Große
PR-Agentur Große GmbH
Grabbeallee 59
D - 13156 Berlin
T.: 0049 (0)30 49 98 94 00
F.: 0049 (0)30 49 98 94 020
info@pr-grosse.de
www.pr-grosse.de

LEFT OFFCANVAS AREA - 2000px height
RIGHT OFFCANVAS AREA