Please select language
Back to the overview

Kazuyo Sejima / SANAA | Architektur als Bestandteil der Umgebung | November Reihe 2016 an der Universität Stuttgart

11.11.2016

November Talks 2016 in Stuttgart


SANAA co-founder Kazuyo Sejima kicked off this year's November Talks in Stuttgart and attracted listeners in droves. Founded in 1995 by Kazuyo Sejima and Ryūe Nishizawa, SANAA stands for straightforward architecture that exudes lightness and is now represented across the globe. In the completely filled lower lecture hall, Professor Cheret limited himself to a brief introduction and quickly turned over the stage to the Pritzker Prize winner.


Kazuyo Sejima, who had just arrived from Tokyo, presented three select projects to the attending students and architects. Using the following examples, she vividly explained her building philosophy and her approach to architecture: The Rolex Learning Center of École Polytechnique Fédérale in the Swiss city of Lausanne, the Inujima Art House Projects in Japan as well as the Grace Farms complex in the US state of Connecticut. As exemplary excerpts of SANAA's work, these buildings not just illuminate the firm's understanding of architecture and its process but also illustrate a continuous development of its premises. To that, Kazuyo Sejima said that her initial goal was to integrate buildings into the surrounding landscape. Now, however, it is her main goal to make them a part of their environment.


Rolex Learning Center, 2014


In order to explain how she comes up with ideas in general and the path toward a successful competition entry, Kazuyo Sejima took her audience on a journey from the initial idea to the completed campus. Using countless analogue and virtual studies, she provided a glimpse into the labour and material-consuming design process. In her lecture, which was supplemented by images, the architect detailed her goal to establish the requested spatial arrangement of lecture and common rooms on the plot of land in a way that was minimally intrusive, while also incorporating surrounding natural and structural references. Countless form studies were developed to reconcile this concept with the desired spatial arrangement. The anecdote of how the architects initially tried to satisfy the conceptual demands and the constructional requirements with the help of a computer program, just to find out that their own views were not reconcilable with those of the computer, was met by the audience's amused agreement. The Japanese architect complemented the comprehensive description of the project with images and little anecdotes from the construction phase as well as the final building.


Inujima Art House Projects, 2010


Due to the massive exodus of the population that was the result of the closure of a copper mine, the picture of Inujima island in the Seto inland sea was dominated by abandoned dwellings in 2010. As had been successfully done on the nearby island of Naoshima, the potential of the empty buildings and the impressive landscape were to be used to create a special place for art and culture. SANAA was initially only tasked with designing and building a few galleries in the town. But the office convinced with its restrained ideas that incorporated the existing environment and nature. In a second phase, additional plots of land and vacated houses were made available to the project that now expanded to another village and the surroundings. Due to the different types of galleries – some of which were houses and others open air sculptural exhibits – Kazuyo Sejima explained that her goal was not to merely use a combination of existing structures and new materials to create spaces and locations for art, but rather to allow the environment to become a part of how the art was presented. As a result of the project's success, the architects expanded their efforts on the island and designed unconventional overnight accommodations and supplemental spaces for the many visitors. As part of student workshops on site, additional elements were included that completed the picture of a habitat consisting of art, nature and constructed tradition.


Grace Farms, 2015


The foundation of the same name commissioned SANAA with the construction of a multi-purpose building on a former training ground for horses in rural Connecticut. A place for social and cultural offerings was supposed to be created on a sweeping plot of land. Using studies and anecdotes, Kazuyo Sejima described her aim to comply with the demanding spatial arrangement as well as her premise to develop her architecture as a part of its surroundings. The final design – pavilions connected by a meandering roof that are spread out across the property – adopts the existing topography and is integrated into the surrounding landscape dominated by rivers and lakes. Using many pictures, the architect explained the complex endeavour to make the buildings part of the landscape. With the help of their design model and the marking of the actual outlines of the planned buildings, the architects checked their design on site and determined the final positions.


The audience in the lower lecture hall rewarded Kazuyo Sejima, who received an honorary doctorate from the University of Stuttgart in 2013, with loud and sustained applause for her impressive and entertaining lecture. At the conclusion of her presentation, many audience members found their way onto the stage to speak to the Pritzker Prize winner, convey their enthusiasm and, in some cases, to get an autograph.

Video-Interview with Kazuyo Sejima

Video-Interview with Kazuyo Sejima


Visit our YouTube-Channel

Please direct queries to

Bert Große
PR-Agentur Große GmbH
Grabbeallee 59
D - 13156 Berlin
T.: 0049 (0)30 49 98 94 00
F.: 0049 (0)30 49 98 94 020
info@pr-grosse.de
www.pr-grosse.de

RIGHT OFFCANVAS AREA

zurück zur Übersicht

Kazuyo Sejima | SANAA | Architektur als Bestandteil der Umgebung | November Reihe 2016 an der Universität Stuttgart

11.11.2016

November Reihe 2016 in Stuttgart


1995 von Kazuyo Sejima und Ryue Nishizawa gegründet, steht SANAA für geradlinige und Leichtigkeit ausstrahlende Architektur, die inzwischen in aller Welt vertreten ist. Direkt aus Tokio angereist, stellte die Pritzker-Preisträgerin drei ausgewählte Projekte vor, anhand derer sie ihre Philosophie des Bauens und architektonische Herangehensweise anschaulich erläuterte: Das Rolex Learning Center der École Polytechnique Fédérale im schweizerischen Lausanne, die Inujima Art House Projects in Japan sowie die Anlage von Grace Farms im US-amerikanischen Connecticut. Die Beispiele aus dem Schaffen von SANAA beleuchten nicht nur Architekturauffassung und Arbeitsweise, sondern dokumentieren die stetige Weiterentwicklung von Prämissen. War es anfangs Kazuyo Sejimas Ziel, die Bauten in die Landschaft zu integrieren, gehe es ihr nun vielmehr darum, diese zum Bestandteil der Umgebung werden zu lassen.


Rolex Learning Center, 2014


Kazuyo Sejima nahm die Anwesenden mit auf eine Reise von der ersten Idee zum fertigen Campus – von der allgemeinen Ideenfindung bis zum erfolgreichen Wettbewerbsbeitrag. Anhand analoger sowie virtueller Studien erhielten die Zuhörer Einblick in den arbeits- und materialintensiven Entwurfsprozess. In Bild und Wort schilderte die Architektin, wie sie das geforderte Raumprogramm aus Lehr- und Aufenthaltsräumen möglichst wenig invasiv auf dem Grundstück etablierte und natürliche wie auch bauliche Bezüge der Umgebung aufnahm. Unzählige Formstudien veranschaulichten den Prozess, Konzept und gewünschtes in Einklang zu bringen. Zustimmende Erheiterung löste Sejima mit ihrer Schilderung aus, dass der Versuch, den Anforderungen des Konzepts und konstruktiven Notwendigkeiten mit Hilfe eines Computerprogramms gerecht zu werden, scheiterte: Die eigene Auffassung war mit der des Computers nicht vereinbar. Mit Bildern und Anekdoten zu Bauphase und finalem Bauwerk verschaffte die Japanerin den Anwesenden einen umfassenden Eindruck vom Projekt.


Inujima Art House Projects, 2010


Aufgrund massiver Abwanderung der Bevölkerung infolge einer aufgegebenen Kupfermine bestimmten 2010 verlassene Wohnstätten das Bild der Insel Inujima im Seto Binnenmeer. Wie schon zuvor auf der nahegelegen Insel Naoshima sollte das Potenzial des Leerstandes und die eindrucksvolle Landschaft genutzt werden, um einen besonderen Ort für Kunst und Kultur zu etablieren. Anfangs nur mit dem Entwurf und Bau weniger Galerien in einem Dorf betraut, überzeugten SANAA mit ihren zurückhaltenden, die gewachsene Umgebung und Natur einbeziehenden Ideen. In einer zweiten Phase wurden weitere Grundstücke und verlassene Häuser für das Vorhaben zur Verfügung gestellt, das sich auf ein weiteres Dorf und die Umgebung ausweitete. Anhand der unterschiedlichen Galerien - teils Häuser, teils skulpturale Ausstellungsobjekte unter freiem Himmel - beschrieb Kazuyo Sejima, wie die Kombination aus vorhandenen baulichen Strukturen sowie neuen Materialien Räume und Orte schafft, die nicht nur das Rezipieren von Kunst ermöglichen, sondern auch die Umgebung Teil der Inszenierung werden lässt. Mit dem Erfolg des Projekts weiteten die Architekten ihr Engagement auf der Insel aus und konzipierten unkonventionelle Übernachtungsangebote und ergänzende Räume für die zahlreichen Besucher. Im Rahmen von studentischen Workshops vor Ort entstanden zusätzlichen Angebote, die das Bild des Biotops aus Kunst, Natur und gebauter Tradition vervollständigen.


Grace Farms, 2015


Die gleichnamige Stiftung beauftragte SANAA mit dem Bau eines Mehrzweckgebäudes auf einem ehemaligen Trainingsgelände für Pferde im ländlichen Connecticut. Auf dem weitläufigen Gelände sollte ein Ort für soziale und kulturelle Angebote geschaffen werden. Anhand von Studien und Anekdoten beschrieb Kazuyo Sejima ihr Bestreben, das anspruchsvolle Raumprogramm mit ihrer Prämisse, Architektur als Bestandteil der Umgebung zu entwickeln, zu vereinen. Der finale Entwurf – über das Gelände verteilte Pavillons, die von einer mäandernden Dachkonstruktion zusammengefasst werden – nimmt die vorgefundene Topographie auf und fügt sich in die umgebende Fluss- und Seenlandschaft ein. Bildreich schilderte die Architektin das aufwendige Vorhaben: Mit dem Entwurfsmodell im Gepäck und der Markierung der tatsächlichen Grundrissflächen auf dem Grundstück überprüften die Architekten ihr Konzept vor Ort und legten die endgültigen Positionen fest.


Das Auditorium feierte Kazuyo Sejima, die 2013 die Ehrendoktorwürde der Universität Stuttgart verliehen bekam, für ihren eindrucksvollen und unterhaltsamen Vortrag mit langanhaltendem Beifall. Im Anschluss strömten zahlreiche begeisterte Zuhörer auf die Bühne, um von der Pritzker-Preisträgerin ein Autogramm zu erbitten und sich mit ihr auszutauschen.


Die Sto-Stiftung fördert die Vortragsreihe „November Reihe“, zu der namhafte Architektur-Referenten nach Stuttgart, Graz, Paris, London, Prag und Mailand kommen. Der Eintritt ist stets frei. Wir freuen uns über viele Besucher und regen Austausch zu den Vortragsthemen.


Mehr dazu lesen Sie hier:

November Reihen 2016: Vortragsreihe an sechs europäischen Hochschulen

Namhafte Vertreter zeitgenössischer Architektur zu Gast

Video-Interview mit Kazuyo Sejima

Video-Interview mit Kazuyo Sejima


Das Video finden Sie auf dem YouTube-Kanal der Sto-Stiftung

sto_stiftung_20_2016_november_reihe_stuttgart_bild_01

Jeden Mittwoch im November, ab 19 Uhr, erwarten Sie Werkberichte im Tiefenhörsaal des Hochhauses K2 der Universität Stuttgart. Der Eintritt ist frei.


09. Nov. | Kazuyo Sejima | SANAA | Tokyo

16. Nov. | Piero Bruno | Bruno Fioretti Marquez | Berlin
(Ersatzvortrag - Luigi Snozzi fällt wegen Erkrankung aus)

23. Nov. | Farshid Moussavi | Farshid Moussavi Architecture | London

30. Nov. | Alexandre Theriot | Bruther | Paris

Rückfragen beantwortet gerne

Bert Große
PR-Agentur Große GmbH
Grabbeallee 59
D - 13156 Berlin
T.: 0049 (0)30 49 98 94 00
F.: 0049 (0)30 49 98 94 020
info@pr-grosse.de
www.pr-grosse.de

LEFT OFFCANVAS AREA - 2000px height
RIGHT OFFCANVAS AREA