Back to the overview

Architectural prose of shapes and materials

24.11.2014

Architectural prose of shapes and materials

24 November 2014. Carme Pigem of RCR Arquitectes, Olot, Spain. Architecture and visual arts are just two possible ways of telling a story from start to finish. Carme Pigem, co-founder of the Catalonian architecture office “RCR Arquitectes” spoke at the 2014 November Talks in Graz about the tools used by her team to create stories within the built-up world.


What is a lighthouse? A tower? In years gone by, people would simply use a fire to send signals to ships; however, this concept can also be developed into a building in the form of a lighthouse. “So what is it really about?” This is the burning question asked at the start of every new project, explains Carme Pigem, who was born in 1962 in the Catalonian city of Olot. Breaking down a task into its most basic principle, you must never lose sight of nature or the surrounding area. And the Estadio de Atletismo (1999–2001, Olot) is a prime example of this. In fact, not a single tree was felled for the elliptical running track. The athletes run through the natural environment “just like in the original Olympic Games”. The volcanic landscape of the Pyrenean foothills in north-east Spain is the ideal example of this combination of natural and man-made environments. The light reflects around the man-made terraces and breaks through the spaces in between the tall trees. Together with her team – comprising the three founders Rafael Aranda, Carme Pigem, and Ramón Vilalta in a kind of architectural round table – Carme puts her three main tools to work on the long road (“it can take five years!”) to creating one award-winning project after another.


The first tools under discussion are watercolours. Abstract shapes in a strictly limited colour range evoke dream-like imagery rather than architectural designs. The atmosphere and location within the room are then created through digital renderings – tool number two. These even give off the impression that the designs were made to be computerised works of art – as though the pixelated “painting” were the actual basis behind this exact design. Step three involves using paper, glass, and timber models to bring the design to life and lend it volume and proportions. Once the project finally appears as a construction within the room, it goes back to being photographed and the circle starts again with watercolours. “It's about telling a story,” explains Carme.


In urban environments, the role of nature is taken on by existing buildings. When the Teatro La Lira (2003, Ripoll, Spain) was torn down, a public space appeared in its place. However, the visitors who cross over to the area via a narrow bridge continue to be “actors on the set”. The space between the old buildings has become one of the protagonists. Explaining this concept further, Carme notes that “architecture needs empty spaces just like music needs pauses.” Empty spaces also play a key role at the covered open-air restaurant Les Cols (2002–2003, Olot). Carme's inspiration came in the form of the impressionist painting “Music in the Tuileries” by Manet, which features people celebrating at the heart of the forest. Carme's open-air restaurant included transparent plastic walls of trees, between which real trees grow up through spaces in the ceiling as though reaching for the clouds. The building is framed by metal rods, which have bent under their own weight. But nature calls the loudest on the way to the toilets, where the space is open to the skies. The first museum project undertaken by RCR Arquitectes was also the company's first project in France. The Musée Soulages in Grand Rodez is home to the works of one of the most popular abstract artists in the world, Pierre Soulages. The museum complex boasts 6600 m² of floor space, of which 500 m² makes up the main area housing the temporary exhibition. The smaller sections are organised into cubic “rooms within rooms”. The construction spans three levels, which have been perfectly calculated to ensure the cubes nestle flawlessly into the topography. The material has been kept strictly minimalist with the classic, rusted look of Corten steel “We want to draw attention to the space itself, not to a range of different colours and shapes,” explains Carme in reference to her commitment to simplicity. Smooth, solid, and geometric: the cubic elements balance on the gentle hillside like rusty containers waiting to be filled. The entrance area is shrouded by a terrace like a giant usherette tray, which serves to shelter the visitors to the site. When designing the project, the architects at RCR Arquitectes were keen to maintain the view of the background area including Rodez Cathedral. “It's all about the overall picture – the full story”.


Rafael Aranda, Carme Pigem, and Ramon Vilalta graduated from the Technical School of Architecture of El Vallès and have operated as RCR Arquitectes since 1988 in their hometown of Olot. Their list of accolades is extensive – from the lighthouse in Punta Aldea (1988) to more recent projects such as the crematorium in Hofheide, Belgium, and the new Meditel headquarters in Casablanca. The Tussols-Brasil stadium in Olot was even awarded the European Union Prize for Contemporary Architecture (formerly known as the Mies van der Rohe Award for European Architecture). Carme Pigem has been teaching architecture in Vallès, Barcelona, and Zurich since 1992.


Press release download

Press release

_mg_1385

November Talks 2014
Carme Pigem - Olot, Spain (Video clip| 1:37 Min.)

Please direct queries to

Bert Große
PR-Agentur Große GmbH
Grabbeallee 59
D - 13156 Berlin
T.: 0049 (0)30 49 98 94 00
F.: 0049 (0)30 49 98 94 020
info@pr-grosse.de
www.pr-grosse.de

LEFT OFFCANVAS AREA - 2000px height
RIGHT OFFCANVAS AREA

zurück zur Übersicht

Architekturprosa aus Form und Material

24.11.2014

Architekturprosa aus Form und Material

24.11.2014 Carme Pigem, RCR Arquitectes, Olot, Spanien Architektur und bildende Kunst sind lediglich zwei Möglichkeiten, eine Geschichte von Anfang bis zum Ende zu erzählen. Carme Pigem, Mitbegründerin des katalanischen Architekturtrios RCR Arquitectes, stellte bei den November Talks 2014 in Graz die Werkzeuge vor, mit denen ihr Team Geschichten in gebaute Welten verwandelt.


Was ist ein Leuchtturm? Ein Turm? Ursprünglich diente doch ein Feuer dazu, den Schiffen ein Signal zu geben, also kann ein Leuchtturm auch als Gebäude realisiert werden. „Worum geht es wirklich?“ – das sei die primäre Fragestellung vor jedem neuen Projekt, sagt Carme Pigem, die 1962 im katalanischen Olot geboren wurde. Eine Aufgabenstellung herunterbrechen auf ihr Grundprinzip, darum gehe es, und dabei niemals die Umgebung, die Natur außer Acht lassen. Wie beim Estadio de Atletismo (1999 – 2001, Olot). Kein einziger Baum fiel der elliptischen Laufbahn zum Opfer. Die Sportler laufen durch die Natur, „wie bei den ersten Olympischen Spielen“. Die Vulkanlandschaft im Nordosten Spaniens im Pyrenäenvorland bietet die Vorlage für diese Mischung aus Natürlichem und Menschengemachtem. Das Licht spielt sich in den künstlichen Terrassen, bricht sich in Zwischenräumen der hohen Bäume. Gemeinsam mit ihrem Team – aus den drei Gründern Rafael Aranda, Carme Pigem und Ramón Vilalta ist eine architektonische Tafelrunde geworden – setzt Carme Pigem ihre drei Hauptwerkzeuge an, um in einem langen Prozess („Das kann 5 Jahre dauern!“) ein preisgekröntes Projekt nach dem anderen umzusetzen.


Aquarelle, das erste Werkzeug, bestimmen den Anfang des Vortrags. Abstrakte Formen, in der Farbpalette strikt reduziert, erinnern eher an Traumbilder als an architektonische Entwürfe. Die Atmosphäre, die Verortung im Raum, schaffen digitale Renderings, Werkzeug Nummer zwei. Auch hier entsteht der Eindruck, als dienten die Entwürfe der Computerkunst selbst, als sei das Gemälde aus Pixel der eigentliche Grund für genau diesen Entwurf. Modelle aus Papier, Glas und Holz, Schritt drei, bringen das Design dann in die Realität und verleihen ihm Volumen und Proportionen. Wenn das Projekt schließlich als Bauwerk im Raum steht, wird es wieder zur Fotografie, der Kreis zum Aquarell schließt sich. „Es geht darum, eine Geschichte zu erzählen“, sagt Pigem.


Im urbanen Raum übernehmen bestehende Gebäude die Rolle der Natur. Als das Teatro La Lira (2003, Ripoll, Spanien) abgerissen wurde, entstand ein öffentlicher Platz. Doch die Besucher, die den Raum über eine schmale Brücke erreichen, bleiben weiterhin „Schauspieler auf dem Set“. Zum Protagonisten wurde der Leerraum zwischen den alten Gebäuden. „Architektur braucht die Lücke, wie die Musik die Pause braucht“, erläutert Pigem das Konzept. Leerräume spielen auch beim überdachten Gastgarten des Restaurante Les Cols (2002 – 2003, Olot) eine große Rolle. Als Inspiration nutzte Pigem die impressionistische „Musik im Tuilieriengarten“ von Manet – feiernde Menschen, mitten im Wald. Aus Bäumen wurden in Pigems Gastgarten transparente Kunststoffwände, zwischen denen tatsächliche Bäume durch Lücken im Dach wie im Nebel emporwachsen. Metallische Stäbe, gebogen durch ihr eigenes Gewicht, begrenzen den Gastgarten. Die Natur ruft am lautesten auf dem Weg zur Toilette – hier ist der Raum nach oben offen. Der erste Museumsbau RCR Arquitectes war auch das erste Projekt in Frankreich. Im Musée de Saulages in Grand Rodez zeigt Pierre Saulages, einer der bekanntesten abstrakten Künstler Frankreichs, seine Werke. 6.600 Quadratmeter Fläche bietet der Museumskomplex, 500 davon bilden den Hauptraum, der die temporäre Ausstellung beherbergt. Die kleineren Abteilungen sind in kubischen „Räumen in Räumen“ angeordnet. Auf drei Niveaus erstreckt sich der Bau, sorgfältig durchberechnet, damit sich die Würfel perfekt an die Topografie anschmiegen. Strikt reduziert wirkt das Material – Kortenstahl mit seinem klassischen Rostlook. „Die Aufmerksamkeit muss sich auf den Raum richten, nicht auf die Vielfalt von Farben und Formen“, erklärt Pigem ihr Bekenntnis zur Einfachheit. Glatt, hart und geometrisch balancieren die kubischen Elemente auf den sanften Hügeln, wie rostige Container, die immer noch auf ihre Befüllung warten. Über dem Eingangsbereich kragt eine kräftige Bauchladenterrasse aus und bildet einen Schirm über den Besuchern. Bei der Gestaltung behielten RCR Arquitectes den Hintergrund immer im Blickfeld: Den bildet die Cathédrale Notre Dame de Rodez. „Es geht immer um das Gesamtbild, die ganze Geschichte.“


Rafael Aranda, Carme Pigem and Ramon Vilalta schlossen ihre Studien an der Technical School of Architecture of El Vallès ab und arbeiten seit 1988 als RCR Arquitectes zusammen in ihrer Heimatstadt Olot. Die Liste der Auszeichnungen ist lang – vom Leuchtturm in Punta Aldea im Jahr 1988 bis zu neueren Projekten wie dem Krematorium in Hofheide, Belgien, oder die neuen Meditel Headquarters in Casablanca. Das Stadion Tussols-­‐Brasil in Olot ist mit dem Mies Van der Rohe Preis der EU ausgezeichnet worden. Carme Pigem unterrichtet seit 1992 Architektur in Vallès, Barcelona und Zürich.


Der Pressetext zum Download

Der Pressetext

_mg_1385

November Talks 2014
Carme Pigem - Olot, Spanien (Film | 1:37 Min.)

Rückfragen beantwortet gerne

Bert Große
PR-Agentur Große GmbH
Grabbeallee 59
D - 13156 Berlin
T.: 0049 (0)30 49 98 94 00
F.: 0049 (0)30 49 98 94 020
info@pr-grosse.de
www.pr-grosse.de

LEFT OFFCANVAS AREA - 2000px height
RIGHT OFFCANVAS AREA