Please select language
Back to the overview

Overlapping contrasts

17.11.2014

Overlapping contrasts

Graz, 17 November 2014. Have something designed by the Berlin based architect, Arno Brandlhuber, means having to be in for some surprises. The German architect, born in Wasserlos in 1964, has little regard for customary and conventional design. At the November Talks in Graz on 17 November 2014, he presented some of his most unusual designs in the area of urban construction.


Architecture sometimes simply means being constrained. In the case of Berlin, this constraint is a tightly woven mesh of building regulations, protection of continuance, and various other obligations that have to be complied with if you wish to create something new. As one knows, necessity is the mother of invention, and Arno Brandlhuber unfolded a whole arsenal of visions in the auditorium of the Technical University of Graz as to how to transform scarce space into highly functional, attractive, and unique living and working environments. In a “nerdy” way, like a computer nerd sunk in thought, he described his ideas, which he mostly already playfully hatches before even finding a client.


In Cologne, a residential and commercial building was developed in a vacant lot measuring 2.56 metres interconnected with stairs (“2.56”, Cologne, 1996 - 1997), which is designed structurally independently - in accordance with regulations. According to Brandlhuber, stairs tend to get neglected anyway. In his designs, they often play a central role. In the “Kölner Brett” (Cologne 1997 - 2000), there is no staircase, the individual modules are connected internally by stairs. Double room heights are thus made possible in the lofts and on the vendor tray terrace a leafy, semi-private room has been created. Very simple that idea, but just “totally good”, Brandlhuber admits nonchalantly.


Living and working: this contrast is increasingly disintegrating. A studio therefore provides an ideal domicile for the post-industrial human being. This combination of living and working space is also economical from a tax point of view. Light from all four directions - important if you want to live and work - but is only possible in a detached house or a large apartment. And at Arno Brandlhuber’s. You take two matchboxes, lay one down flat, and place the second one rotated by 90 degrees on top so that the corners are touching. And you have the “Vier-Richtungsmodul” (Berlin, 2010) Several constructions built into each other give rise to two storey maisonettes with windows in all directions. The maximum length of the ashlar, however, was limited because of the light, so Brandlhuber proposes to turn the entire construction by an additional 45 degrees. These “herringbones” have however never been realized.


With regard to his own studio in Brunnenstraße in Berlin, Brandlhuber reached deep down into his treasure chest consisting - literally - of bizarre designs. In a vacant lot with a basement, a total work of art made of “Japanese paper walls”, i.e. polycarbonate panels (Brandlhuber says, “Very cheap!”) was created, an almost Mediterranean-like exterior staircase landscape with arcades and terraces at the rear, and a roof that houses a tree and a mini sauna. That is exterior development, oriented, on the one hand to what already exists and, secondly, screams out decidedly “fuck the context”.


In the second part of his talk, Arno Brandlhuber touched on some of his work, which he headlined with “shortcuts”. They all have bridging between old and new in common, for example, the addition of another storey to an urban post-war development (“Over the Top”, Cologne 2004-2006), which was described as a “Deformity” - until the project was presented as a submission at the Berlin Biennale ... The environment also responded ambivalently to the “Antivilla” (Krampnitz, 2010), a former fabric warehouse made of concrete with GDR plaster, into which an “apprentice brigade” built dozens of small windows. On the top storey of the 500 square metre hall, there is a core with a sauna, bathroom, and stairs to the roof. The sauna was intended to heat the building, curtains replace the walls, and there is no insulation. The “Antivilla” also scores points visually with windows, which are actually glazed holes that have been knocked out of the walls. The entire building has the effect of being an attack on everything that goes towards making a villa. “What is so funny?”, Brandlhuber asks the murmuring audience. Also in architecture, conventions need to be questioned. And of course also the high construction standards and the many regulations.


Arno Brandlhuber, born 1964 in Wasserlos, studied architecture at the Technical University of Darmstadt and the Accademia del Arte in Florence After a long-standing partnership with Bernd Kniess under the name of b&k+, he founded his own studio in 2006 under the name of Brandlhuber+. Since 2003, he has been teaching Architecture and Urban Studies at the Academy of Fine Arts, Nuremberg.

Please direct queries to

Bert Große
PR-Agentur Große GmbH
Grabbeallee 59
D - 13156 Berlin
T.: 0049 (0)30 49 98 94 00
F.: 0049 (0)30 49 98 94 020
info@pr-grosse.de
www.pr-grosse.de

RIGHT OFFCANVAS AREA

zurück zur Übersicht

Verschachtelte Gegensätze

17.11.2014

Verschachtelte Gegensätze

17.11.2014 Graz. Wer beim Berliner Architekten Arno Brandlhuber gestalten lässt, muss einiges aushalten. Vom Konventionellen und Üblichen hält der 1964 in Wasserlos geborene Deutsche nämlich wenig. Bei den Grazer November Talks am 17. November 2014 präsentierte er einige seiner ausgefallensten Positionen rund ums urbane Bauen.


Architektur heißt manchmal einfach, sich nach der Decke zu strecken. Im Fall von Berlin ist diese Decke dicht gewoben aus Bauvorschriften, Bestandsschutz und diversen anderen Auflagen, die es einzuhalten gilt, wenn man etwas Neues schaffen will. Not macht bekanntlich erfinderisch, und Arno Brandlhuber breitete in der Aula der Grazer TU ein ganzes Arsenal an Visionen aus, wie man knappen Raum in höchst funktionale, attraktive und einzigartige Wohn- und Arbeitswelten verwandelt. „Nerdisch“, also in der Art der in Gedanken versunkenen Computer-Nerds, bezeichnete er seine Ideen, die er meistens schon spielerisch ausbrütet, bevor sich überhaupt ein Klient gefunden hat.


In Köln entstand in einer Baulücke von 2,56 Metern ein Wohn- und Geschäftsgebäude mit verschachtelten Treppen („2,56“, Köln, 1996 – 1997), das konstruktiv unabhängig ausgeführt ist – gemäß Vorschrift. Treppen, so Brandlhuber, würden ohnehin stiefmütterlich behandelt. In seinen Entwürfen spielen sie oft eine zentrale Rolle. Beim „Kölner Brett“ (Köln, 1997 – 2000) gibt es kein Stiegenhaus, die einzelnen Module sind intern durch Treppen verbunden. Doppelte Raumhöhen werden so in den Loftwohnungen möglich, auf der Bauchladen-Terrasse entsteht ein begrünter, halbprivater Raum. Sehr einfach, diese Idee, aber eben „total gut“, wie Brandlhuber nonchalant zugibt.


Wohnen und Arbeiten: Dieser Gegensatz löst sich immer mehr auf. Für den postindustriellen Menschen bietet sich daher das Atelier als ideales Domizil an. Steuerlich günstig ist diese Kombination aus Wohn- und Arbeitsraum obendrein. Licht aus allen vier Himmelsrichtungen – wichtig, wenn gewohnt und gearbeitet werden soll – ist aber nur in einem freistehenden Haus oder einer großen Wohnung möglich. Und bei Arno Brandlhuber. Man nehme zwei Zündholzschachteln, lege eine flach hin und setze die zweite um 90 Grad gedreht darüber, sodass die Ecken sich berühren. Fertig ist das „Vier-Richtungsmodul“ (Berlin, 2010). Mehrere ineinandergebaut, ergeben sich zweistöckige Maisonetten mit Fenstern in alle Richtungen. Die maximale Länge der Quader ist wegen des Lichts allerdings begrenzt, deswegen schlägt Brandlhuber vor, das Ganze noch zusätzlich um 45 Grad zu drehen. Diese „Fischgräten“ sind allerdings nie realisiert worden.


Bei seinem eigenen Atelier in der Berliner Brunnenstraße griff Brandlhuber richtig tief in seine Schatzkiste aus – wörtlich zu verstehen – schrägen Entwürfen. In einer Baulücke mit Keller entstand ein Gesamtkunstwerk aus „japanischen Papierwänden“, also Polykarbonatplatten (Brandlhuber: „Sehr billig!“), einer fast mediterran anmutenden Außentreppenlandschaft mit Laubengängen und Terrassen an der Rückseite, und einem Dach, das einen Baum und eine Mini-Sauna beherbergt. Das ist Außenerschließung, die sich einerseits am Bestehenden orientiert und andererseits ein dezidiertes „fuck the context“ hinausschreit.


Im zweiten Teil des Vortrags streifte Arno Brandlhuber einige Arbeiten, die er mit „Shortcuts“ übertitelte. Sie haben alle Brückenschläge zwischen Alt und Neu gemeinsam, etwa die Aufstockung einer innerstädtischen Nachkriegsbebauung („Over the Top“,Köln 2004 – 2006), die als „Verunstaltung“ bezeichnet wurde – so lange, bis das Projekt bei der Berlin Biennale als Einreichung präsentiert wurde … Zwiespältig reagierte die Umgebung auch auf die „Antivilla“ (Krampnitz, 2010), ein ehemaliges Stofflager aus Beton mit DDR-Putz, in das eine „Lehrlingsbrigade“ dutzende kleine Fenster gemauert hatte. Im Obergeschoß der 500-Quadratmeter-Halle gibt es einen Kern mit Sauna, Bad und Treppe aufs Dach. Die Sauna soll das Gebäude heizen, Vorhänge ersetzen die Wände, gedämmt wird nicht. Die „Antivilla“ punktet optisch auch mit Fenstern, die eigentlich verglaste, in die Wand gehauene Löcher sind. Das gesamte Gebäude wirkt wie ein Angriff auf alles, was eine Villa ausmacht. „Was gibt’s da zu lachen?“ fragte Brandlhuber in das raunende Publikum. Auch bei der Architektur gilt es, Konventionen zu hinterfragen. Und natürlich auch die hohen Baustandards und die vielen Vorschriften.


Arno Brandlhuber, geboren 1964 in Wasserlos, studierte Architektur an der Technischen Hochschule Darmstadt und der Accademia del Arte in Florenz. Nach einer langjährigen Partnerschaft mit Bernd Kniess unter dem Namen b&k+ gründete er 2006 sein eigens Atelier unter dem Namen Brandlhuber+. Seit 2003 lehrt er Architektur- und Stadtforschung an der Akademie der Bildenden Künste Nürnberg.


Der Pressetext zum Download

Der Pressetext

Rückfragen beantwortet gerne

Bert Große
PR-Agentur Große GmbH
Grabbeallee 59
D - 13156 Berlin
T.: 0049 (0)30 49 98 94 00
F.: 0049 (0)30 49 98 94 020
info@pr-grosse.de
www.pr-grosse.de

LEFT OFFCANVAS AREA - 2000px height
RIGHT OFFCANVAS AREA